About Simucube 2 Pro Power Supply

Hello everyone,

I bought the SC2 Pro, and I’ve been using it for a few months now… I’m quite perplexed about its operation; every now and then the force feedback disappears, and there are things that I think are wrong in the settings. However, since I don’t want to be arrogant, I wanted to ask the community a few things.

Here are my questions:

1. The SC2 Pro is sold with a single 360W power supply capable of providing a maximum of 48 volts and 7.5 amperes. Why is it that in the settings at 100%, the amperage corresponds to around 22.8 amperes? If you’ve provided a maximum 7.5-ampere power supply, why allow for a range of 22.8 amperes?
  2. In anticipation of wanting to replace the motor and power supply in the future, is there a possibility with software, perhaps Granity, to make fine configurations in to the motor controller?

Thanks in advance to anyone who responds.

A servo drive is a sort of power converter. One cannot use input amperage and voltage to say anything about output voltage and current. The power draw from the power supply is digitally controlled and the functions are tuned so that the power supply is not overloaded.

No, Simucube 2 does not have motor tuning available for the end user.

Yes, what you say is partially correct, but I would like to emphasize that the input voltage and amperage directly affect the torque output and the rotational speed of the servo motor. These parameters are crucial in determining the overall performance of the servo system. Disregarding the importance of the power supply could lead to an incomplete assessment of the capabilities and performance of a servo drive. Therefore, it is crucial to carefully consider the power supply when evaluating or discussing the performance of a servo system.