Trouble connecting SC1 to Granity

Hiya, currently trying to change some settings in Granity due to an error I get frequently (Motor Faults! Over Current! Power Stage Forced Off! Fault Location ID 442001). I’ve seen in a previous thread that there were settings I could change to stop this from happening, so I decided to download Granity and try to connect my SC1.

I enable Ioni Configuration via USB in the Simcube Configuration Tool and open Granity but the only thing I see in the Connect Tab under Communication interface device is “Generic serial port (COM1)” and “TCP/IP”. The error I get is “Unable to connect. Possibly incompatible COM adapter selected or device is already used by another application”

I bought this SC1 unused off a guy who bought it in 2015 (early build) and it is a 30nm Big Mige with IONI Pro HC. I’ve read the wiki and threads about connecting to Granity but am quite lost. For reference, I’ve been driving with it for about 6 months and only a few months ago it has started showing me the Motor Faults! error. Happy to send pics of firmware versions etc.

Thanks in advance, Ethan

install the drivers https://granitedevices.com/wiki/Granity#Drivers

If you mean the VCP drivers, I have installed them and restarted my computer to no avail

i did mean the vcp. and just to be clear you have both usb cables connected (tested working cables and tested usb motherboard inputs) correct ?

any device with mark at device manager ?

So I opened up my controller case and realised that the x4 wasn’t plugged in from the IO to the IONI board. Plugged it in and now I can connect. Still however getting issues with max over current fault even with FOC at max.

OK can you please tell me what hardware you have and post your settings, either with photos or the drc file. Also don’t forget to include the version number of the simucube tool and ioni firmware

Hardware:

30nm Big Mige
5000ppr Encoder
Simucube Revision 1 (r004)

Software/Firmware: