Simucube vs STM32 MMOS vs Thanos

Hey guys
I only recently learnt that you could build your very own DD wheel for much less than the ones that come as a unit on the market.
I’m a noob at electronics so I’m still trying to make sense of everything.
This is what I’ve understood so far. Please correct me if I’m wrong:
I understand that Simucube also has STM32 integrated into it but has access to its proprietary FFB firmware. Which makes the FFB better. But is the most expensive option coming these.
STM32 is also a very popular option but it is restricted to MMOS firmware which was last updated in 2014 and the FFB is not as good as Granity.
Thanos is supposed to be pretty good as well (don’t know which firmware it is capable of running) but is rarely in stock.
Price is definitely a concern. I know what the simucube setup will cost. But what will the STM32 MMOS setup cost (other than the motor, the small mige is going to be common to all builds)
Please also enlighten me of the advantages of the Thanos.

Thanks in advance!

you will probably find that the STM32F4 Discovery + IONICUBE + IONI Pro / Pro HC based setup is hard to find (Discovery boards are out of stock due to global component shortage) , and has many more components and EMI issues compared to Simucube + IONI. It is basicly a 2014-generation system. I think Thanos based setup would use MMOS firmware (again 2014 features)…

Good luck with your project.

Good luck with your project

Personally I think you should keep saving your money up and get a finished product like the SC2 or VRS DFP.

1 Like

Thanos solution is basically using old tech based on stm32, running MMoS FW currently, married to a cheap AASD-series drive-controller.

Not sure what is planned wrt the FW, but the drive-controller is the same used for both the pt-actuator and SFX motion systems. They have obnoxiously loud coil-whine, just so you know.