SimuCUBE Configuration Tool Translations

We have started to set up the translations repository on Github:

This is the official thread for the translations, updates, comments, etc. Note, that I have not added the actual files to be translated yet, that will happen later today or tomorrow.

1 Like

Translations have been added. Let the translations begin!

I’ve started with some Dutch translations but finding the right context without the forms is rather difficult sometimes.

e.g. what will be filled at the %1, %2 placeholders? I can not see a clear reason why there would be placeholders in these strings in the first place.

Are these just for text bolding/link generation?

Seeing as I cannot load these translations I cannot see how they fit or what the placeholders will contain.

I work as a developer in my day job and we also create translation files. This is the first time I’ve been on the other side and it is quite difficult I find!
Some things could be translated perfectly fine to Dutch but then you would lose any ability to google those terms or ask on these forums about them. I think I will keep all technical terms as much in English as I can.

Any thoughts on that?

Mostly the values are for html:
first %1 starts bolded text and %2 ends it. In some cases, if there is only one value, it is usually a number that is put into that position on the string.

and yes, for link generation. :smiley:

Yeah, it is always difficult to find the balance between translating absolutely everything and leaving some technical stuff as-is.

We left the debug log functionality (all the strings that it can output to log) untranslated for exactly this reason.

@Mika : here

I downloaded Qt Open Source but I have just Qt Creator and not Qt Linguist. Where could I find this ? Thank-you.

It would appear, that you have to select some Qt package as well:

Then the Lingust should be available both in Start menu, and in the qt folder: