Kollmorgen AMK54G vs 54K

Calling anyone with experience of the Kollmorgen motors. I’m on the brink of pulling the trigger on an AKM build, and am leaning towards the 54K as my motor of choice.

I’m a little unsure of the differences between the G and K windings in terms of characteristics - I understand the K will peak at around 26Nm and the G 24, but should I consider any other factors?

For example the K windings take a lot more power - does this imply less smoothness in the feel?
Would love to hear any opinions from people who have experienced both windings.

Hello there, unfortunately i cannot answer your question but rather take it a little further in the hope it will rekindle this thread and someone with knowledge responds! Hopefully this is not considered hijacking! I am very new to the OSW world and trying to understand Kollmorgen motor windings myself.

Is there any reason other windings cannot be used? I have a (very cheap) AKM52M which I am looking to use for this purpose. So far, my very basic understanding is that it will require a power supply with somewhere in the order of 1600W to get the full peak 21.9Nm it is rated for. Happy to go with a smaller PSU and reduce the Torque if that is indeed how it works. The motor is rated at 4500rpm which is much higher than the K so not sure what impact that has.

Can anyone explain windings please?

Having played with both G and K windings, I have to say I prefer the K winding AKM servos, as they certainly feel a bit smoother under IONI operation than the G.

Just ensure you are able to realize the torque you are after, I suspect you will be ok though, as I think I got approximately 21 or 22NM from my 53K.

The K windings do run a bit hotter under full-torque operation vs the G in my experience, but this in no way diminishes the performance, these are designed for 24/7 high temperature operation any way.

Cheers,
Beano