Issue with linear SinCos encoder: sudden jumps of integer multiples of the line pitch

I have a question regarding IONI regarding a SinCos encoder. I have no experience using SinCos encoders so it is possible that I am making some stupid mistake.

My hardware configuration:

• IONI with IONICUBE.

• A linear motor with a linear SinCos encoder.

• Drive firmware version 1.7.21.

• 48V high voltage power supply.

Problems arise when:

I have successfully got the motor to move in the “Digital hall sensors” feedback device mode, but I experience problems whenever I try to use the SinCos encoder. The problems I describe below arise in torque control mode with setpoint 0.

How it behaves:

The first way that I noticed the problem is that the “position feedback” field under the Granity Testing tab tends to drift towards negative values. It almost doesn’t happen when the drive is software disabled (Esc in Granity). The motor has about 120 mm of motion range: If I enable the drive in torque mode with setpoint 0 and manually move the motor over to one side and then back again, the reported end position is very roughly 120 mm (it varies with each try) smaller than before, even though the real position of the motor is back to where it was originally. For obvious reasons, this prevents the system from working.