IONICUBE And I/O

Hello. I have a question about using the IoniCube with automatic probing, tool changer and mist cooling.
I must admit i am fairly new to cnc controllers so this may not be a perfekt question.

I am refurbishing an older 3 axis mill, the goal is to have it run from Mach4, using the IONICUBE as a servo driver. On the IONICUBE page it states that there is “Two 26 pin I/O connectors” where the X5 is for exstra I/O drives and custom applications.

i was wondering if these I/O pins can be used to control the relays turning on and of mist cooling, as well as controlling the pneumatic for the ATC spindle, or as inputs from the work finding probe.

If so is this setup through the Mach4 and the simplemotion v2 adaptor?

Best regard
Tobias T. Strate

Hi Strate

Technically that would be possible, however this would require custom firmware features and control through the simplemotion field bus. These would both require extra programming to both IONI firmware and the Mach4 plugin (beta currently).

This kind of setup could be done with an interface electronics that has enough IO for both IONI’s and the extra features, or then using our drives through the Mach4 plugin and the extra features with a separate interface. This however assumes that Mach4 supports the use of multiple interfaces simultaneously, which I cannot confirm due to my limited Mach4 knowledge.

Kind regards,
Esa

Thank you for your quick answer. Is there any software which is recommended over Mach4 for applications as this?

i see it is written to use the cube with a smoothstepper board, yet here the cube seems very redundant since the functionality (other than the drivers) seem to already be in the smoothstepper, or have i misunderstood?

Hi Strate