Convert open loop stepper to closed loop control

Hi,

I have a project that uses a 13Nm Open Loop stepper motor (4 wire / 2 phase, 48VDC @ 5A per phase) to move a belt type linear axis … control of the stepper drive is via 5V pulse/direction I/O from a custom microprocessor.

Initially it worked well but under certain conditions the motor looses steps which causes a gradual positional error on the linear axis. as such I am considering modifying the setup to closed loop control by adding a Omron 1000 P/R Incremental quadrature encoder, the Granite Devices web site states that the Ioni drive (with X1 mother board) can control stepper motors and supports rotary encoders.

An alternative might be to use a a linear encoder for position feedback but i have no experience in using them …

I need it to automatically recover from a lost step/s situation by using the feedback device …

I’ve been considering using a hybrid stepper drive from china but the software is bound to be flakey with no support and it only supports 2 ph steppers where as spending the extra on a Ioni drive would ensure that the drive would be future proof if i wanted to switch to a servo motor at some point in the future and of course the Granity software is far superior and would allow me to tune the motor to the application.

Just wondering if anyone here has any experience in using a stepper in closed loop control ? … any advice or help would be most welcome …

Cheers
jay

Hi Jay

IONI can drive a stepper motor in a closed loop configuration as a stepper motor, or as a 100-pole servo motor. The servo mode has the benefit of using only as much current that is required and reduced audible noise. Servo mode also eliminates physical resonances that stepper motors are prone of.

I suggest you read the first part of this wiki page about the different modes IONI can drive a stepping motor with:
http://granitedevices.com/wiki/Using_stepping_motor_with_IONI